bottom

HOPE AND SPORT

The Decathlon Foundation is very proud to participate in the very first Lebanese project in the Foundation's history. The project of Marlene, Elie, Marc and Diane aims to help children and teenagers in the conflict zones of Beirut where precariousness has been reinforced by the current context. 🇱🇧 

Hope & Sport is a programme for children and teenagers living or having lived in conflict zones or in a very precarious situation. It is designed for the child and for the people who support his development (educators, family circle), in a physical, emotional and mental approach, using educational supports built with sports professionals, child psychiatrists, coaches, a naturopath and publishers of children's games. The project aims to be fully replicable and adaptable in fixed structures (schools, associations...) as well as in mobile structures. The objectives of Hope & Sport :

 

Promoting the development, integration and autonomy of children and adolescents

Fostering academic success 

 Work on stress management 

Developing self-confidence

Contributing to the construction of children's identity 

Teamwork and cooperation 

To promote social integration and encourage tolerance, respect for others, an enlightened view of difference and disability. 

Involve the family unit in the child's development and upbringing (emotional management, overall well-being, the importance of a balanced diet and restful sleep).

 

 

 

Marlene, Decathlon campus quality manager

"Four months ago, a friend I met in Madagascar contacted me, looking for partners to support the Hope & Sport project in Lebanon. We had seen each other maybe 3 or 4 times since my return to France at the end of 2014, after 2 years together there. Life sometimes does things well, and I don't believe in chance. I spent 3 years in Madagascar. It was a period that taught me a lot, I arrived there as a young graduate and left as an active woman, always with my thirst to discover, to travel, to meet people. The only thing I missed was not taking the time to get involved in an associative project there. (...) I have known for a few years now that I find meaning in being part of a team, a group, a project, with a strong need for authenticity and exchange. Accompanying and growing are a great source of energy for me. So when the NGO contacted me, I said to myself: here is a wink of fate, I can and I want to do my part! Since then, we have exchanged with Diane, then Elie. I have the feeling that it was written, with energy and all our heart, we have built this strong, concrete and sustainable project. Hope & Sport is an obvious choice and I simply feel proud and committed, because it brings together people who have the will to act for a profound meaning: to accompany their children, in need, on the path of life. I can't wait to go there to meet and support our colleagues Decathlonians from the Beirut shop, the Baroudeurs and Amel teams, and offer his children moments of joy and marbles for the future".

 

Elie, Decathlon Beirut, Lebanon

"For me , all people need a little help , a little hope , and someone to believe in them , and i do believe that helping one person might not change the whole world , but it could change the world for one person. I lived in Lebanon for 28 years and lived along all its bad and good times, what made us surpass those very difficult times in Lebanon is the solidarity of the population. I have been raised in a family where giving is a blessing , and love is a must , and love is when you feel the pain of others and you act about it , by drawing smiles on their faces and make them feel that someone is looking up for them and make them feel that their lives matters , and to do so , on each occasion every year (christmas , easter and whenever we knew that someone is in need) we give with love all what we can give and donate (depend on their need) , to make a small difference in their lives and to make them feel warm and appreciated. At that point I knew that this is what could bring me happiness , I was a member of SAINT Rita scout in my hometown in 2004 (for almost 5 years) , where NGOs don't exist. I started to elevate my sense of humanity and this is due to directive coaches chefs that we had in our troup . In 2006 weapon conflicts started in Lebanon , what affected our food chain , medicines and other principle needs , what put us on the move to support our people (lebanese and others) to sustain these hard times that we faced , all the work that we did was organised by SAYDE CHURCH in sin el fil . This war affected my state of mind as I saw the fear in the kids eyes , and I couldn't do anything about it , since there wasn't any resources or support on that stage. At the age of 18 I became the provider for my family which shifted all my focus to supporting my family however this did not stop me from helping people, whenever I can with whatever I can. 2020 was a turnaround year in our country with a very tough economic crisis, protests all around The country and the crisis aggravated over the months with people losing their jobs. Adding to that the large scale explosion came in August and living in the close suburbs of Beirut made me jump into action to help injured people, and take action during next days to clean streets and help people rebuild their houses. Another traumatic experience for kids living in Beirut. As you can see my personal background and the country we are living convinces me even more that I should help the people of my country and especially the future generation. I believe that the Hope & Sport Project is a very important project for the kids of my country, to make them see that hope is present and better days can be achieved through Sports and the love that we will give them."

 

On behalf of the entire Foundation team, we are proud to be your teammates at Decathlon and thank you for your investment in this incredible project! 👏

 

  • Sports plein air (global)
  • Share this article :

For a better reading of the site,
please turn to your screen.
Thank you for your understanding.

Fondation Decathlon

bottom

HOPE AND SPORT

La Fondation Decathlon est très fière de participer au tout premier projet Libanais de l’histoire de la Fondation. Le projet de Marlène, Elie, Marc et Diane vise à aider les enfants et adolescents des zones de conflits de Beyrouth où la précarité a été renforcée par le contexte actuel. C'est main dans la main que le Decathlon de Beyrouth et l'association Les Baroudeurs de l'Espoir ont imaginé ce projet :

🇱🇧  Hope & Sport est un programme pour enfants et adolescents vivant ou ayant vécu dans des zones de conflits ou en situation de grande précarité. ll est pensé pour l’enfant et pour les personnes qui accompagnent son développement (éducateurs, cercle familial), dans une approche physique, émotionnelle et mentale, en s’appuyant sur des supports éducatifs construits avec des professionnels du sport, des pédopsychiatres, des coachs, une naturopathe et des éditeurs de jeux pour enfants. Le projet se veut intégralement  adaptable dans des structures fixes (écoles, associations...) comme au coeur de structures mobiles. Les objectifs Hope & Sport sont les suivants : 

  • Favoriser l’épanouissement, l’intégration, l’autonomie des enfants et des adolescents
  • Favoriser la réussite scolaire 
  •  Travailler sur la gestion du stress 
  • Développer sa confiance en soi
  • Contribuer à la construction identitaire des enfants 
  • Travailler l’esprit d’équipe et la coopération 
  • Favoriser l’intégration sociale et encourager la tolérance, le respect de l’autre, un regard éclairé sur la différence et le handicap 
  • Impliquer la cellule familiale dans le développement de l’enfant et son éducation(gestion des émotions, bien-être global, importance d’une alimentation équilibrée et d’un sommeil réparateur).

 

 

Marlène, responsable qualité Decathlon campus

“Il y a 4 mois, une amie que j'ai rencontrée a Madagascar m'a contactée, à la recherche de partenaires pour soutenir le projet Hope & Sport au Liban. On s'était revue peut être 3 ou 4 fois depuis mon retour en France fin 2014, après 2 ans ensemble là-bas. La vie fait parfois bien les choses, et je ne crois pas au hasard. J'ai passé 3 ans à Madagascar. C'est une période qui m'a énormément appris, j'y suis arrivée jeune diplomée et repartie femme active, toujours avec ma soif de découvrir, de voyager, de rencontrer des gens. Une seule chose m'a manqué, je n'ai pas pris le temps de m'investir dans un projet associatif là-bas. (...)  Je sais depuis quelques années maintenant que je trouve du sens en étant membre d'une équipe, d'un groupe, d'un projet, avec un fort besoin d'authenticité et d'échange. Accompagner et faire grandir sont une grande source d'énergie pour moi. Alors quand l’ONG m'a contactée, je me suis dit : voilà un clin d'œil du destin, je peux et je veux faire ma part! Depuis, nous avons échangé avec Diane, puis Elie. J'ai le sentiment que c'était écrit, avec énergie et tout notre coeur, nous avons construit ce projet fort, concret, et durable. Hope & Sport est une évidence et je me sens simplement fière et engagée, car il réunit des Hommes qui ont la volonté d'agir pour un sens profond : accompagner ses enfants, dans le besoin, sur le chemin de la vie. J'ai hâte de me rendre sur place pour rencontrer et épauler nos collègues Decathloniens du magasin de Beyrouth, les équipes Baroudeurs de l'espoir et offrir à ses enfants des moments de joie et des billes pour l'avenir.”

 

Elie, Decathlon Beyrouth, Liban

"Pour moi, tous les gens ont besoin d'un peu d'aide, d'un peu d'espoir, et de quelqu'un qui croit en eux, et je crois qu'aider une personne ne changera peut-être pas le monde entier, mais cela pourrait changer le monde pour une personne. J'ai vécu au Liban pendant 28 ans et j'ai vécu tous les bons et mauvais moments. Ce qui nous a permis de surmonter ces moments très difficiles au Liban, c'est la solidarité de la population. J'ai été élevée dans une famille où donner est une bénédiction, où l'amour est un devoir, et l'amour, c'est quand on ressent la douleur des autres et qu'on agit en conséquence, en dessinant des sourires sur leurs visages et en leur faisant sentir que qu’ils comptent (...)  En 2006, des conflits armés ont commencé au Liban, ce qui a affecté notre chaîne alimentaire, les médicaments et autres besoins fondamentaux, ce qui nous a mis en mouvement pour soutenir notre peuple (libanais et autres) afin de soutenir ces personnes dans des temps difficiles. Cette guerre a affecté mon état d'esprit lorsque j'ai vu la peur dans les yeux des enfants, et je ne pouvais rien y faire, car il n'y avait pas de ressources ou de soutien sur cette scène. À l'âge de 18 ans, je suis devenu le soutien principal de ma famille mais cela ne m'a pas empêché d'aider les gens, chaque fois que je le pouvais avec ce que je pouvais. 2020 a été une année charnière pour notre pays, avec une crise économique très dure, des protestations dans tout le pays et une aggravation de la crise au fil des mois avec des pertes d'emploi. De plus, l'explosion survenue en août et le fait de vivre dans la proche banlieue de Beyrouth m'ont poussé à passer à l'action pour aider les personnes blessées, et à agir dans les jours suivants pour nettoyer les rues et aider les gens à reconstruire leurs maisons. Une autre expérience traumatisante pour les enfants vivant à Beyrouth. Comme vous pouvez le voir, mon parcours personnel et le pays où nous vivons me convainquent encore plus que je dois aider les gens de mon pays et surtout la génération future. Je crois que le projet Hope & Sport est un projet très important pour les enfants de mon pays, pour leur faire voir que l'espoir est présent et que des jours meilleurs peuvent être atteints grâce au sport et à l'amour que nous leur donnerons.”

 

Au nom de toute l'équipe de la Fondation, nous sommes fiers d'être vos coéquipiers chez Decathlon et vous remercions pour votre investissement dans cet incroyable projet ! 👏

  • Sports plein air (global)
  • Partager cet article :

Pour une meilleure lecture du site,
veuillez retourner votre écran.
Merci de votre compréhension.

Fondation Decathlon