bottom

Unlimited Sport For Everyone

Unlimited Sport for Everyone is a project initiated by an incredible Turkish Decathlon collaborator: Melis Basak. Melis works at the Decathlon Nautilus in Istanbul and is also a member of the Unlimited Sport Organization (SSD). The aim of the association is to offer young blind people an accessible and adapted sports environment.

Unlimited Sport For Everyone is a project that aims to promote the practice of outdoor sports for marginalized and excluded people for whom the practice of sport will boost their mental and physical capacities. The project leaders want to guarantee a safe environment for these disabled people and allow them to discover the sensations of kayaking, cycling, walking, swimming, yoga and many other disciplines! 🚴🏽

Today, the Board of Directors of the Foundation has decided to support this Turkish project and all this would not have been possible without Melis' work force and desire. Here is her story :

"When I started university, I got back into biking, which was my favorite childhood activity, as a mode of transportation. By joining bike clubs and participating in their rides I learned more about biking and met new people. Around this time I also tried tandem biking. Tandem biking opened the doors for new adventures and thanks to tandem biking I made many good friends. With one of these friends we decided to tour Turkey by tandem bike which was our dream for a long time.

In May 2018 we started our 6-month long bike journey that covered 5 regions of Turkey. We toured around Eastern, South-Eastern, Mediterranean, Aegean and Marmara Regions by a tandem and a single bike. We called the project My Pedal Friend.

During our journey, people with different disabilities pedaled with us for 10-15 day periods. We contacted the bike clubs and NGOs that work with people with disabilities to introduce tandem biking to more people and we started biking with many people who were trying tandem biking for the first time.

In May 2018 we started our 6-month long bike journey that covered 5 regions of Turkey. We toured around Eastern, South-Eastern, Mediterranean, Aegean and Marmara Regions by a tandem and a single bike. We called the project My Pedal Friend.

During our journey, people with different disabilities pedaled with us for 10-15 day periods. We contacted the bike clubs and NGOs that work with people with disabilities to introduce tandem biking to more people and we started biking with many people who were trying tandem biking for the first time.

(...)

As a result in many cities around Turkey now more people are tandem biking and our number is increasing day by day.

I believe that no matter what their disabilities are, all individuals have the right to participate in sports independently without needing a middleman. I cannot wait to reach out to more people to share the joy of doing sports together with the help of Unlimited Sports for Everyone project."

Hand in hand the SSD association of Melis and the project leaders at Decathlon Ozgurai and Ali have planned to organize activities throughout the year for the beneficiaries:

Each season there will be canoeing, swimming, camping, yoga, cycling, pilates and dragon boat activities.

On behalf of the entire Foundation team, congratulations on your investment and we look forward to discovering new projects with Turkey! 👏

 

 

  • Sports plein air (global)
  • Share this article :

For a better reading of the site,
please turn to your screen.
Thank you for your understanding.

Fondation Decathlon

bottom

Unlimited Sport For Everyone

 

Le projet Unlimited Sport for Everyone est un projet initié par une incroyable de nos collaboratrice Turque de Decathlon : Melis Basak.

Melis travaille au Decathlon Nautilus à Istamboul et est aussi membre de l’association Unlimited Sport Organization (SSD). L’association a pour but d’offrir à de jeunes aveugles un environnement sportif accessible et adapté.

 

Unlimited Sport For Everyone c’est un projet qui veut favoriser la pratique du sport d’extérieur pour des personnes marginalisées, exclues et pour qui la pratique du sport va booster les capacités mentales et physiques. Les porteurs du projet veulent garantir un environnement sécuritaire pour ces personnes handicapées et leur permettre de découvrir les sensation du kayak, du vélo, de la marche, de la nage, du yoga et plein d’autres disciplines encore ! 🚴🏽

 

Aujourd’hui, le Conseil d’administration de la Fondation a décidé de soutenir ce projet Turque et tout cela n’aurait pas été possible sans la force de travail et l’envie de Melis. Voici son histoire :

 

“Lorsque j'ai commencé l'université, je me suis remise à faire du vélo, c’était mon activité favorite lorsque j’étais enfant.  En rejoignant des clubs de cyclisme et en participant à leurs balades, j'ai appris à mieux connaître mon vélo et j'ai rencontré de nouvelles personnes. À cette époque, j'ai également essayé le tandem. Le tandem m'a ouvert les portes de nouvelles aventures et grâce au tandem, je me suis faite beaucoup de bons amis. Avec l'un de ces amis, nous avons décidé de faire le tour de la Turquie en tandem, ce qui était notre rêve depuis longtemps. 🥇

 

En mai 2018, nous avons commencé notre voyage à vélo pour 6 mois et avons couvert 5 régions de la Turquie. Nous avons parcouru les régions de l'est, du sud-est, de la Méditerranée, de la mer Égée et de Marmara en tandem et en vélo. Nous avons appelé le projet "Mon ami à pédale".

 

Au cours de notre voyage, des personnes souffrant de différents handicaps ont pédalé avec nous pendant des périodes de 10 à 15 jours. Nous avons pris contact avec les clubs de cyclisme et les ONG qui travaillent avec les personnes handicapées afin d'introduire le tandem à un maximum de personnes et nous avons commencé à faire du vélo avec de nombreuses personnes qui essayaient le tandem pour la première fois. 🚣🏿

(...)

Par la suite, dans de nombreuses villes de Turquie, de plus en plus de personnes font du tandem et nos actions grandissent tous les jours. 

Je pense, quel que soit leur handicap, tous les individus ont le droit de pratiquer un sport de manière indépendante, sans avoir besoin d'un intermédiaire. J'ai hâte de tendre la main à plus de personnes pour partager la joie de faire du sport ensemble avec l'aide du projet "Unlimited Sports for Everyone". "

 

Main dans la main l’association SSD de Melis et les porteurs du projet chez Decathlon Ozgurai et Ali ont prévu d’organiser des activités sur toute l’année pour les bénéficiaires :

A chaque saison sont prévues des activités de canoë, nage, camping, yoga, vélo, pilate et dragon boat

 

Au nom de toute l’équipe de la Fondation, félicitations pour votre investissement et nous sommes impatients de découvrir de nouveaux projets avec la Turquie !

 

  • Sports plein air (global)
  • Partager cet article :

Pour une meilleure lecture du site,
veuillez retourner votre écran.
Merci de votre compréhension.

Fondation Decathlon