bottom

PENITENTIARY TOUR DE FRANCE

I remember meeting Jean-Paul, , a prison governor, q, who told me about the project for a Penitentiary Tour de France. I thought this was a good project, because the challenge to detainees was really not simple, from a physical, sporting or mental point of view.

 

We both wanted to work with the "Osons les Défis" association to create the Penitentiary Tour de France in 2009. We were able to offer a new kind of medical and sporting integration project.

This was a chance for them to surpass themselves, commit to something in a group spirit and regain self-confidence, step by step... A kind of preparation for re-joining society.

 

The adventure began with a two-day course at Valenciennes remand centre, to meet the whole team and explain the benefits of such an approach.

 

A few weeks later, the group of 12 inmates and the same number of staff gathered at the start line for the Grand Départ. They set off from Decathlon's head office in Villeneuve d'Ascq for a saga of over 2,400km in 12 legs.

This project enabled a regional peloton to take part each day. A total of 240 inmates, 350 staff members (guard, management, administration, integration and probation staff, prosecutor, judge, director of the prefect's office, etc.) rode with the national peloton.

 

During the Tour de France and other big races, people go through difficult moments that they need to be able to endure and overcome in order to keep on moving forward. This challenge helped to raise participants' awareness of the importance of personal commitment when it comes to succeeding.

 

Following this adventure:

  • 1 of the 12 inmates secured a fixed-term contract at a Decathlon store upon release
  • 10 found a job upon release thanks to improved reintegration abilities
  • 2 continued cycling as a hobby... with their buddies!

 

This challenge above all had the effect of raising awareness of the importance of personal commitment when it comes to succeeding... you can count on others, of course... but above all, you have to give yourself the means to succeed.

 

 

Story told by Cyril Saugrain, manager of the cycle department at the Decathlon store in Meaux and former professional cyclist.

  • 160

    Beneficiary

  • Valenciennes

  • Vélo de route
  • Share this article :

For a better reading of the site,
please turn to your screen.
Thank you for your understanding.

Fondation Decathlon

bottom

Tour de France Pénitentiaire

Je me souviens avoir rencontré Jean-Paul, directeur d’établissement pénitentiaire, qui m'a présenté le projet du tour de France des pénitentiaires et j'ai trouvé ce projet fort, car le défi proposé aux détenus n'était vraiment pas simple, tant d'un point de vu physique, sportif que mental. 

 

Nous avons tous les deux voulu nous rapprocher de l’association « Osone le Défi » pour créer le Tour de France des pénitentiaires en 2009. Nous avons pu proposer un projet d’insertion médico-sportif d’un nouveau genre.

Ce fut un moyen pour eux de se surpasser, de s’engager dans un esprit de groupe et de reprendre confiance en eux, étape par étape…Un peu comme une préparation à leur réinsertion prochaine.

 

L’aventure a commencé par un stage de deux jours à la maison d’arrêt de Valenciennes pour faire connaissance avec toute l’équipe et expliquer l’intérêt d’une telle démarche.

 

Quelques semaines plus tard, le groupe de 12 détenus et tout autant de membres du personnel ont pris le Grand Départ. Ils sont partis du siège de Decathlon à Villeneuve d’Ascq pour un périple de plus de 2400kms en 12 étapes.

Ce projet a permis la participation quotidienne d’un peloton régional. Au total, 240 détenues, 350 membres du personnel (surveillant, directeur, administratif, personnelles d’insertion et de probation, procureur, juge, directeur de cabinet de préfet…) ont roulé auprès du peloton national.

 

Lors du Tour de France ou autres grandes courses, on traverse des moments difficiles qu’il faut savoir passer, surmonter pour continuer d’avancer. C’est un challenge qui a permis de sensibiliser les participants sur l’importance de s’impliquer personnellement pour réussir.

 

À la suite de cette aventure :

  • 1 détenu parmi les 12 a obtenu un CDD au sein d’un magasin Decathlon dans le cadre de sa sortie
  • 10 ont retrouvé un emploi lors de leur sortie grâce à une meilleure capacité de réinsertion
  • 2 ont continué le vélo comme sport passion… entre potes !

 

Je retiendrais que ce challenge aura eu pour effet de les sensibiliser sur l'importante de s'impliquer personnellement pour réussir ... on peut, certes compter sur les autres ... mais il faut avant tout se donner les moyens de réussir.

 

Racontée par Cyril Saugrain, responsable du rayon cycle sur le magasin Decathlon de Meaux et ancien cycliste professionnel.

  • 160

    Bénéficiaires

  • Valenciennes

  • Vélo de route
  • Partager cet article :

Pour une meilleure lecture du site,
veuillez retourner votre écran.
Merci de votre compréhension.

Fondation Decathlon