bottom

L'HeMa Vélo

The Haematology Department of the Nantes University Hospital treats adult patients with haematological malignancies (blood cancers). The treatments require a period of isolation of 1 to 6 weeks in a sterile room of 9m².

This therapeutic isolation can be difficult for some patients. Prolonged inactivity also leads to muscle wasting.

HéMA'VELO consists of introducing exercise bikes and pedalboards connected to the outside world into this service.

This original and innovative e-health system makes it possible to combine physical activity and well-being for hospitalized patients and to promote their socio-professional reintegration.

 

Camille, Decathlon Nantes CSR referent: "When I arrived in Nantes in July 2019, Laurie, who was then in charge of communications at the Decathlon Atlantis store, told me about the event she had organised with the Nantes University Hospital. A great action which consisted in donating sports equipment to enable patients in the haematology department to do physical activity during their hospitalization.

As I have been very involved in the Foundation's actions since I joined Decathlon in Btwin Village (organisation of Foundation Day on several occasions, events with the adapted sports federation / disabled sports federation, etc.), I immediately wanted to take this great initiative with the University Hospital even further.

When Sarah C. told me about the HéMA'VELO project to allow patients to escape from their sterile room, I knew I had to to something. For me, sport has always been a way of surpassing oneself, of escaping, of rejuvenating. I really want these people, who are going through a dark period in their lives, to be able to escape from their rooms for a while thanks to the exercise bike and Kinomap technology: from New York to Latin America via the Atlantic coast... What a great opportunity to escape, alone or with us, Decathlonians, their friends and family. The support of this project by the Foundation is the beginning of a beautiful story around the values of sport and well-being for our health."

 

Marie, fitness department manager: "For me, sport is a way of escaping, of forgetting the constraints of everyday life and of recharging one's batteries in order to move forward in one's projects! It is also a way of surpassing oneself, whether individually or collectively.

The research carried out within the framework of the HéMA'VELO project contributes to show that sport allows all this. This objective therefore motivates me and immediately made me want to invest in this direction with the actors of this project, whether in the context of my job as a fitness department manager or in my personal time. I have set myself the goal of creating cycling routes (alone or with teammates - during team events) that patients enjoy and making them available to them using Kinomap technology.

We would like to create a project group with a relay in each shop in Nantes to create these highlights between employees and customers. We will be the 2 pillars to communicate and raise awareness of the project. We have already presented HéMA'VELO at the regional level to the stop managers, LRE and HR manager. All have been touched and feel involved in the project.

Below is the testimony of Armelle, 72 years old, who has been suffering from leucemia since April 2020.

 

 

  • Vélo de route
  • Share this article :

For a better reading of the site,
please turn to your screen.
Thank you for your understanding.

Fondation Decathlon

bottom

L'HeMa Vélo

 

 

 

 

Le service Hématologie du CHU de Nantes prend en charge des patients adultes atteints d’hémopathies malignes (cancers du sang). Les traitements nécessitent une période d’isolement de 1 à 6 semaines en chambre stérile de 9m².

Cet isolement thérapeutique peut être mal vécu pour certains patients. L’inactivité prolongée entraîne par ailleurs une fonte musculaire.

L’HéMA’VELO consiste en l’introduction dans ce service de vélos d’appartement et de pédaliers connectés avec le monde extérieur.

Ce dispositif original et innovant d’e-santé permet d’allier l’activité physique et le bien-être des patients hospitalisés et de favoriser leur réinsertion socio-professionnelle. 

 

 

Camille, référante RSE Decathlon Nantes : "Lorsque je suis arrivée sur Nantes en Juillet 2019, Laurie, alors chargée de la communication du magasin Decathlon Atlantis, m'a parlé de l'action événementielle qu'elle avait menée aux côtés du CHU de Nantes. Une belle action qui consistait à faire un don de matériel sportif pour permettre à des patients du service d'hématologie de faire de l'activité physique pendant leur hospitalisation. 

Etant moi-même très attachée aux actions de la Fondation depuis mon entrée chez Decathlon au Btwin Village (organisation à plusieurs reprises du Foundation Day, événement avec la fédération sport adapté / fédération handisport etc.), j'ai tout de suite voulu porter encore plus loin cette belle initiative avec le CHU. 

Lorsque Sarah C. m'a parlé du projet HéMA’VELO pour permettre à des patients de s'évader de leur chambre stérile, cela a vraiment résonné en moi. Le sport a toujours été pour moi un moyen de dépassement de soi, d'évasion, de ressourcement. J'ai vraiment envie que ces personnes, qui vivent une période sombre de leur vie, puissent s'évader un instant de leur chambre grâce au vélo d'appartement et la technologie Kinomap : de New-York, à l'Amérique latine en passant par la côte Atlantique ... Quelle belle opportunité d'évasion, seul ou avec nous, decathloniens, leurs amis, leur famille. Le soutien de ce projet par la Fondation est le début d'une belle histoire autour des valeurs du sport et du bien-être au service de notre Santé "

 

Marie, responsable de rayon fitness : "Le sport représente pour moi un moyen de s'évader, d'oublier les contraintes du quotidien et de se ressourcer pour mieux avancer dans ses projets ! C'est aussi une façon de se dépasser, que ce soit individuellement ou collectivement.

Les recherches menées dans le cadre du projet HéMA'VELO contribuent à montrer que justement le sport permet tout ceci. Cet objectif m'anime donc et m'a tout de suite donné envie de m'investir dans ce sens avec les acteurs de ce projet, que ce soit dans le cadre de mon métier en tant que responsable de rayon Fitness ou sur mon temps personnel. Je me suis lancée comme objectif de faire des parcours à vélo (seule ou avec des coéquipiers - lors de temps forts en équipe) qui plaisent aux patients et de leur mettre à disposition grâce à la technologie Kinomap.

 

Nous souhaitons créer un groupe projet avec un relais dans chaque magasin nantais pour créer ces temps forts entre collaborateurs et clients. Nous serons les 2 piliers pour communiquer et sensibiliser au projet. Nous avons déjà présenté HéMA’VELO en régionale auprès des directeurs magasins, LRE et responsable RH. Tous ont été touchés et se sentent impliqués par le projet.

 

Ci dessous le témoignage d'Armelle, 72 ans atteinte d'une leucémie depuis avril 2020.

 

 

  • Vélo de route
  • Partager cet article :

Pour une meilleure lecture du site,
veuillez retourner votre écran.
Merci de votre compréhension.

Fondation Decathlon