bottom

Recyclerie Sportive

My name is Driss Yousfi, I worked as leader of Decathlon's Workshop services in the East Paris stores.

We found it incredibly enjoyable, my team of technicians and I, keeping our users satisfied by repairing and maintaining their sports equipment. Nonetheless, one thing saddened me every day: seeing and noticing that many bikes and items of sports equipment were being thrown away simply due to a lack of spare parts or simply due to the excesses of the "satisfied or your money back" policy.

 

The environment is sacred, what could be worse than seeing Btwin bike frames in a landfill site...

 

I spoke to Marc, a friend who has been developing an association for the last few months. I am a member of this association, which focuses on recycling and re-using sports equipment and helping young people to integrate through work. I asked him if we could work together on these sports equipment waste issues at Decathlon. 

A few weeks later, with my technician team, we decided that his association would pick up old bikes that couldn't be mended with the aim of dismantling them piece by piece. The association's members could then re-use these parts to make new bikes and promote non-motorised travel in the neighbourhoods, as well as turning these objects into artistic creations. 

 

The association does far more than just salvaging sports "waste" since it raises awareness and encourages young people to take up sports. To this end, it organises Cross Fit and running sessions in city parks.

 

The Decathlon Foundation financed sports gear so we could start a cycling school, run Cross Fit sessions and buy mechanical tools to re-assemble the bikes. The Recyclerie Sportive recycling centre now has EcoBoxes at partner Decathlon stores in Paris, to encourage customers to bring back their old equipment. And it's a real success!

 

Story told by Decathlon teammate Driss Yousfi..

  • 1250

    Beneficiary

  • Massy

  • Vélo de route
  • Share this article :

For a better reading of the site,
please turn to your screen.
Thank you for your understanding.

Fondation Decathlon

bottom

Recyclerie Sportive

Je m’appelle Driss Yousfi, j’ai travaillé en tant que leader des services Atelier de Decathlon dans les magasins de l’Est parisien.

Nous avons pris un plaisir incroyable, mon équipe de technicien et moi à satisfaire nos utilisateurs sur la réparation et l'entretien de leurs produits sportifs. Néanmoins, une chose me chagrinait au quotidien, c'était de voir et de constater que beaucoup de vélos et de produits sportifs étaient jetés simplement par manque de pièces détachées ou simplement par excès de politique " satisfait ou pas satisfait".

 

L'environnement est sacré, quoi de pire que voir dans une décharge à ciel ouvert des cadres de vélo Btwin....

 

Je me suis tourné vers Marc, un ami qui développe depuis quelques mois une association, dont je suis membre, tournée vers le recyclage et le réemploi de produits sportifs et l'insertion de jeunes par le travail. Je lui ai demandé si nous pouvions collaborer ensemble sur ces problématiques de déchets sportifs chez Decathlon. 

Quelques semaines plus tard, nous décidions avec mon équipe de technicien, que son association ramasserait les vieux vélos non-réparables dans le but de les démonter pièce par pièce. Pour que dans un second temps, les adhérents de l'association réutilisent ces pièces pour refaire des vélos et promouvoir la mobilité douce dans les quartiers et aussi détourner ces objets en créations artistiques. 

 

L’association va bien au-delà de la récupération de « déchets » sportifs puisqu’elle sensibilise et mobilise les jeunes à la pratique sportive. À ce titre, elle organise des séances de Cross Fit et running dans les parcs des villes.

 

La fondation Decathlon a financé du matériel sportif pour lancer un vélo-école, organiser les parties de Cross Fit et acheter les outils mécaniques pour remonter les vélos. La Recyclerie Sportive place désormais des EcoBox dans des magasins parisiens Decathlon partenaires, pour sensibiliser les clients utilisateurs à ramener leur vieux matériel. Et c’est un vrai succès !

 

Racontée par Driss Yousfi, coéquipier chez Decathlon.

  • 1250

    Bénéficiaires

  • Massy

  • Vélo de route
  • Partager cet article :

Pour une meilleure lecture du site,
veuillez retourner votre écran.
Merci de votre compréhension.

Fondation Decathlon