bottom

Khelo Rugby

Since 2011, Decathlon India has been working with two associations, Khelo Rugby and Terre Indica, to promote rugby-playing among young children from underprivileged communities. I've always believed in the power of sport in children's education, particularly for those from problem areas. For me it's a real driver of social integration and employability. As a Decathlon store manager trainer, I wanted to build closer relations with these two associations, which work locally in the shanty towns of Calcutta.

 

The Khelo Rugby project is aimed at children as well as young adults, from the slums or underprivileged communities. Playing rugby, which is central to the project, enabled them to develop skills and become aware of fundamental values. But that's not all. We helped them to gain self-confidence so they can become determined and perseverant adults. They might be the Decathlon teammates of tomorrow.

 

Over 1,500 children (of which 40% are young girls), from 33 different communities, now play rugby thanks to the Khelo Rugby project. We are proud of them, 80% of them continued with their education.

 

Beyond the sports aspect, Decathlon provides these motivated young people with a springboard. Indeed, 21 of them have been hired as teammates and 11 became interns. Around twenty children were able to take part in the "live my life" experience at the Howrah store, in order to familiarise themselves with the company's daily activities.

 

My ambition is for Decathlon to hire a hundred or so young graduates from this project, in the next five years. Thanks to the Khelo Rugby and Terra Indica project, many youngsters have joined the company. They develop their self-confidence, their personality and other behavioural skills through sport. We offer them the chance of a better future, whether in sport, education or employment.

 

Story told by Suresh Ravichandran, Decathlon store manager trainer in East India.

  • 2500

    Beneficiary

  • Calcutta

  • Rugby
  • Share this article :

For a better reading of the site,
please turn to your screen.
Thank you for your understanding.

Fondation Decathlon

bottom

Khelo Rugby

Depuis 2011, Decathlon Inde s’implique avec deux associations, Khelo Rugby et Terre indica pour promouvoir la pratique du rugby auprès de jeunes enfants venant de communautés défavorisées. J’ai toujours cru au pouvoir du sport dans l’éducation des enfants, particulièrement pour ceux venant de quartiers sensibles. C’est pour moi un véritable moteur d’intégration dans la société et d’employabilité. Formateur de responsables magasins Decathlon, j’ai eu envie de me rapprocher de ces deux associations qui œuvrent localement dans les bidonvilles de Calcutta.

Le projet Khelo Rugby, s’adresse autant à des enfants qu’à des jeunes adultes, des bidonvilles ou issus de communautés défavorisées. La pratique du rugby, au centre du projet, leur a permis de développer des compétences et de les sensibiliser à des valeurs fondamentales. Mais ce n’est pas tout. Nous les avons aidés à prendre confiance en eux pour qu’ils puissent devenir des adultes déterminés et persévérants. Ils seront peut-être les coéquipiers Decathlon de demain.

 

Plus de 1 500 enfants (dont 40% de jeunes filles), issus de 33 communautés différentes, jouent désormais au rugby, grâce au projet Khelo Rugby. Nous sommes fiers d’eux, ils sont 80% à avoir poursuivi leurs études.

 

Au-delà de l’aspect sportif, Decathlon sert de tremplin pour ces jeunes motivés. En effet, 21 d’entre eux ont été recrutés en tant que coéquipiers et 11 sont devenus stagiaires. Une vingtaine d’enfants ont pu participer à l’expérience « vis ma vie » du magasin de Howrath pour se familiariser avec le quotidien de l’entreprise.

 

Mon ambition est d’embaucher chez Decathlon une centaine de jeunes diplômés sortis de ce projet, dans les cinq prochaines années. Grâce au projet Khelo Rugby et Terra Indica, de nombreux enfants sont intégrés dans la société. Ils développent leur confiance en eux, leur personnalité et d'autres compétences comportementales grâces au sport. Nous leur offrons la chance d'avoir un avenir meilleur, que ce soit au sport, à l'éducation ou à l'emploi.

 

Racontée par Suresh Ravichandran, formateur de responsables magasins Decathlon dans l’est de l’Inde.

  • 2500

    Bénéficiaires

  • Calcutta

  • Rugby
  • Partager cet article :

Pour une meilleure lecture du site,
veuillez retourner votre écran.
Merci de votre compréhension.

Fondation Decathlon