bottom

Tam Tam Basketball

The TAM TAM BASKETBALL association aims to generate a positive impact on the lives of young people and on the development of immigrant communities, with particular attention to social inclusion and equal opportunities through its sport and social activity. 

The association wants to give a chance to disadvantaged young people by offering them a healthy sport activity completely free (basketball lessons, participation with teams in youth championships, clothing), group and individual psychological assistance and school assistance (after school).

 

The association operates on the mouth of the Volturno, on a strip of Campanian coastline. Castel Voltunro, the Italian city with the highest percentage of inhabitants originating from Africa, confronted with serious insertion problems.

 

The association was born from the passion of the members for basketball, almost all of them former successful players. Americans call it "Giving Back Philosophy", which is the desire to give something back to this community (basketball) that brought them up and trained them. This is why the association operates in a context where young people, almost all of African origin, do not have the opportunity to play sports because their parents' financial situation does not allow them to do so. TamTam Basketball's mission is to generate joy among young people around the values ​​of sport.

 

The young people of Tam Tam, all children of immigrant origin, although they were born in Italy, are considered foreigners. The Italian Basketball Federation (FIP) provides that in youth championships can not play more than 2 foreigners per team. After several months of "battle" the association succeeded in obtaining a derogation which allows it to play the FIP championships regularly with all its boys.

 

The media clamor also sensitized the ministers and then the Italian government inserted a standard called "NORMA TAM TAM BASKET". This standard provides that all young foreign minors living in Italy and attending schools for at least one year have the same rights as Italians in championships.

 

Next year, more than 800,000 young people will benefit! A success that has been talked about all over the world!

 

The project leader at the Foundation says:

“I am a Sport Leader at the Decathlon Giugliano in Campania store in the province of Naples. I have worked at Decathlon for 14 years and since childhood I have always had a great passion for sports in general, especially for football and other collective sports. When I had the chance to know Massimo Antonelli, former Basketball player of Virtus Bologna and founder of Tam Tam, with his missionary desire to offer joy to children less fortunate than us, I thought that we could continue this battle with him with our Decathlon Foundation.

 

From that moment it was an emotional feat, with our project we give the possibility to hundreds of young Africans to integrate into our society through the values ​​of sport! We organized weeks of Day Camp (young people, while living in a coastal city, can not swim and for the first time went into the water!), Play days with basketball games in collaboration with my store, workouts, championship games and much more! Thanks to the support of the Foundation, the association was able to buy the sports equipment it needed and a minibus necessary to move young people from their homes to the gym, as there is no public transport in the city. and the distances are important. "

 

Giuseppe Chianese, Decathlon teammate in Giugliano

  • Basketball
  • Share this article :

For a better reading of the site,
please turn to your screen.
Thank you for your understanding.

Fondation Decathlon

bottom

Tam Tam Basketball

L’association TAM TAM BASKETBALL vise à générer un impact positif sur la vie des jeunes et sur le développement des communautés immigrées, avec une attention particulière à l’inclusion sociale et à l’égalité des chances à travers son activité sportive et sociale. Elle veut donner une chance à des jeunes défavorisés en leur offrant une saine activité sportive totalement gratuite (cours de basket-ball, participation avec des équipes à des championnats de jeunes, vêtements), assistance psychologique de groupe et individuelle et assistance scolaire (après l’école).

L’association opère sur l’embouchure du Volturno, sur une bande de littoral campanien d’environ 10 km avec au centre la ville de Castel Volturno, la ville italienne avec la pourcentage le plus elevé d’habitants originaires d’Afrique, confrontés à de graves problèmes d’insertion.

L’association est née de la passion des membres pour le basket-ball, presque tous d’anciens joueurs réussis. Les Américains l’appellent "Giving Back Philosophy", c’est-à-dire le désir de rendre quelque chose à cette communauté (le basket) qui les a élevés et formés. C'est pour cela que l’association opère dans un contexte où les jeunes, presque tous d'origine africaine, n’ont pas la possibilité de faire du sport parce que la situation financière de leurs parents ne le leur permet pas. TamTam Basketball a pour mission de générer de la joie auprès des  jeunes autour  des valeurs du sport.

 

Les jeunes de Tam Tam, tous enfants issus de l'immigration,  bien qu’ils soient nés en Italie, sont considérés comme étrangers. La fédération italienne de basket-ball (FIP) prévoit que dans les championnats de jeunes ne peuvent pas jouer plus de 2 étrangers par équipe. Après plusieurs mois de "bataille" de l’association a réussi à obtenir une derogation qui lui permet de jouer régulièrement les championnats FIP avec tous ses garçons. 

La clameur médiatique a également sensibilisé les ministres et ensuite le gouvernement italien a inséré une norme nommée "NORMA TAM TAM BASKET". Cette norme prévoit que tous les jeunes étrangers mineurs vivant en Italie et fréquentant les écoles depuis au moins un an ont  les mêmes droits que les Italiens au sein des championnats. 

 

L’année prochaine, plus de 800.000 jeunes en bénéficieront ! Un succès dont on a parlé dans le monde entier! 

Le porteur de projet à la Fondation, raconte :

 

 

“Je suis Sport Leader du magasin Decathlon Giugliano in Campania, dans la province de Naples. Je travaille depuis 14 ans à Decathlon et depuis mon enfance j’ai toujours eu une grande passion pour les sports en général, en particulier pour le football et les autres sports d’équipe. Quand j’ai eu la chance de connaître Massimo Antonelli, ancien joueur de Basket de la Virtus Bologna et fondateur de Tam Tam, avec son désir missionnaire d’offrir de la joie à des enfants moins chanceux que nous, j’ai pensé qu’on pourrait continuer cette bataille avec lui avec notre Fondation Décathlon.

A partir de ce moment c’était un exploit émotionnel, avec notre projet nous donnons la possibilité à des centaines de jeunes africains de s’intégrer dans notre société à travers les valeurs du sport! Nous avons organisé des semaines de Day Camp (les jeunes, tout en vivant dans une ville côtière, ne savent pas nager et pour la première fois sont entrés dans l’eau!), des Play days avec des matchs de basket en collaboration avec mon magasin, des entraînements, des matchs de championnat et bien plus encore! Grâce au soutien de la Fondation, l’association a pu acheter le matériel sportif dont elle avait besoin et un minibus nécessaire pour déplacer les jeunes de leurs maisons à la salle de gym, car il n’y a pas de transports publics dans la ville et les distances sont importantes."

Giuseppe Chianese, Decathlon Giugliano

  • Basketball
  • Partager cet article :

Pour une meilleure lecture du site,
veuillez retourner votre écran.
Merci de votre compréhension.

Fondation Decathlon