bottom

Big Bang Ballers

I chose the Big Bang Ballers association as I was very moved by their project. Big Bang Ballers is an association that uses basketball as a driver of integration and social cohesion.

 

I heard about it from Céline Coste, a Decathlon salesperson at the Echriolles store, and she motivated me to set off on this adventure. Before that, Céline had already taken part in one of their humanitarian projects in Senegal.

 

Sports activities at Decathlon, especially the FOUNDATION DAY event, helped us to get to know this association. We set up fun sports events in the store car park. This experience was repeated twice for the new club year.

 

An integration programme was then set up to recruit young athletes from the Grenoble suburbs, able-bodied or otherwise. As the store was 3 km from problem areas, it was also essential for us to open up to vulnerable young people and share the Big Bang Ballers' educational and sporting values with them.

 

Our project "a court for all" was carried out in order to build an innovative basketball court for the beneficiaries of the Big Bang Ballers' solidarity programmes, and the street players from the Grenoble urban area.

 

Through basketball and sport games, we would like to encourage access to sport for all and promote the educational values of practising sport. But we also want to use sport and the playing of it as a way to meet new people, promote togetherness and learn about citizenship.

 

Thanks to the training/pro meeting sessions held twice a year, young people had access to help with writing their CV and covering letter, as well as preparing for interviews. The beneficiaries appreciated that as it enabled many of them to find internships more easily, as they had been advised and coached first.

 

Story told by Decathlon teammate Karine Terrien.

  • 500

    Beneficiary

  • Grenoble

  • Basketball
  • Share this article :

For a better reading of the site,
please turn to your screen.
Thank you for your understanding.

Fondation Decathlon

bottom

Big Bang Ballers

J’ai choisi l’association des Big Bang Ballers car j’ai été très touchée par leur projet. Big Bang Ballers est une association qui utilise la pratique de basket comme moteur d’insertion et de cohésion sociale.

 

C’est Céline Coste, vendeuse Decathlon du magasin d’Echriolles qui m’en a parlé, et m’a motivée à me lancer dans cette aventure. Céline avait déjà, auparavant, participé à l’un de leurs projets humanitaires au Sénégal.

 

Les animations sportives à Decathlon, notamment la journée FONDATION DAY, ont permis de faire connaître cette association. Nous avons mis en place des animations ludo-sportives sur le parking du magasin. Cette expérience a été renouvelée deux fois pour la rentrée des clubs.

 

Un programme d’insertion a ensuite été mis en place pour recruter de jeunes sportifs des banlieues grenobloises valides ou pas. Le magasin étant situé à 3 km de zones sensibles, il était aussi essentiel, pour nous, de s’ouvrir aux jeunes fragilisés et leur inculquer les valeurs éducatives et sportives des Big Bang Ballers.

 

Notre projet « un terrain pour tous » a été mené afin de construire un terrain de basketball innovant pour accueillir les bénéficiaires des programmes solidaires de l’association Big Bang Ballers et les joueurs et joueuses de rue de l’agglomération grenobloise.

 

À travers le basketball et les jeux sportifs, on souhaiterait favoriser l’accès au sport pour tous et promouvoir les valeurs éducatives de la pratique sportive. Mais aussi, utiliser le sport et sa pratique comme vecteur de rencontres, de promotion du vivre-ensemble et d’apprentissage de la citoyenneté.

 

Grâce aux sessions de formation/rencontre pros menées deux fois par an, les jeunes ont eu accès à des aides pour la rédaction de leur CV, lettre de motivation ainsi que la préparation d’entretien. Les bénéficiaires ont apprécié car cela leur a permis de trouver, pour beaucoup, des stages plus facilement car ils avaient été conseillés et entraînés avant.

 

Racontée par Karine Terrien, coéquipière chez Decathlon.

  • 500

    Bénéficiaires

  • Grenoble

  • Basketball
  • Partager cet article :

Pour une meilleure lecture du site,
veuillez retourner votre écran.
Merci de votre compréhension.

Fondation Decathlon